Many Thanks to the Town of Belvidere

My first week in Belvidere has been nicer than I could ever have expected.  I wanted to take a moment to thank the people of Belvidere for their warm welcome.  Everyone who has come into my shop this week has been so friendly, warm, and welcoming.  I have met so many great people already and I am happy to know each and every one of them.

I believe very strongly in small town business and always have.  I grew up in Metuchen, NJ which, although large in comparison to some of the towns here in Warren County, is a classic American small town.  What Metuchen offered to its residents was a strong sense of community and a desire to give back to the town.  I grew up running to Main St when I needed supplies for a school project, a frozen yogurt, slice of pizza or greeting card.  Walking home from school was always an adventure as we stopped at the local novelty store, Variety Village, to explore the fun things that stocked the shelves or the local Krauzers for a soda.  My first job was at a party supply store in town and then many of my subsequent high school jobs were also along that same street.  Now, 14 years later, I am proud to be a part of another small town and to help provide some of the joy that I knew living in my own hometown.

So many people are concerned with the economic status of the country and their own wallets that they no longer are willing to drive 40 minutes to a department store or mall when they are in need of some shopping.  For so long, small towns were put out of business by larger cities and shopping areas.  I remember listening to all the talk when Lowe’s and Home Depot moved into our area and the small hardware store suffered a loss in customers.  Now it seems those super stores are everywhere, but people still need to get to them and today’s economy causes people to pick and choose between going and staying home even if they are in need.  I believe that with the economy the way it is, people will start looking to their small towns again to provide them with the services that were once common place.

It is on that note that I chose to move into Belvidere to set up my business.  Not only is it convenient for me, it is also the something that the people need.  With more shops in town comes more pride in the town and more draw to the town.

So I thank the people of Belvidere who have taken the time to come see me and who have helped me become a part of this wonderful community.  I look forward to being here and getting to know more of my “neighbors”.

Please, feel free to stop by and say hello.

Nanuk's Igloo is Now Open in Belvidere, New Jersey!

Nanuk's Igloo is Now Open in Belvidere, New Jersey!

Leave a Reply

